Search Results for when-the-devil-holds-the-candle

By the author of He Who Fears the Wolf. Reprint. Either somebody just slid an ice cube down your back or you re reading the opening pages of "When the Devil Holds the Candle.

Author: Karin Fossum

Publisher: Mariner Books

ISBN: 0156032120

Category: Fiction

Page: 273

View: 210

DOWNLOAD & READ
In the aftermath of a purse-snatching that resulted in the death of an infant, Inspector Konrad Sejer and his colleague, Jacob Skarre, investigate a connection between the case and the disappearance of a local delinquent, whose fate unfolds within the house of an elderly woman he was trying to rob. By the author of He Who Fears the Wolf. Reprint.
2007-05-07 By Karin Fossum

candles from the hardware section. Didn't she need any food? He craned his neck and looked at other trolleys. Usually there was a sense of order, things that naturally belonged together, such as four litres of milk, a loaf of bread, ...

Author: Karin Fossum

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781409019961

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 695

DOWNLOAD & READ
Andreas's disappearance is a mystery to all, including his inseparable friend Zipp. But as much as the police question him, its not easy for Zipp to come forward with details of the last time he saw his friend: following an old woman into her home, brandishing his knife. Zipp waited anxiously outside but Andreas failed to reappear. Inspector Sejer and his colleague Skarre are baffled but while the confusion in the outside world continues, a chilling and heart-stopping drama is unfolding inside the old woman's home. In a plot in the tradition of Stephen King, Fossum deploys her trademark skill of looking realistically, terrifyingly, into the minds of criminal and victim. Appearances aren't always to be believed, and people are not always what they seem.
2008-09-04 By Karin Fossum

Author: Karin Fossum

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 1843431424

Category:

Page:

View: 299

DOWNLOAD & READ
2004-07-01 By Karin Fossum

Canoe courtiers , hold the Candle to the Devil , for in my guess , J. will be Prest , 3 : I always make it a rule “ to hold the Candle to the Devil . ” Oxford 377 ; Whiting C25 . C23 To hold a Candle to the sun 1643 Williams Writings ...

Author: Bartlett Jere Whiting

Publisher: Harvard University Press

ISBN: 0674219813

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 555

View: 212

DOWNLOAD & READ
p.B. J. Whiting savors proverbial expressions and has devoted much of his lifetime to studying and collecting them; no one knows more about British and American proverbs than he. The present volume, based upon writings in British North America from the earliest settlements to approximately 1820, complements his and Archer Taylor's Dictionary of American Proverbs and Proverbial Phrases, 1820-1880. It differs from that work and from other standard collections, however, in that its sources are primarily not "literary" but instead workaday writings - letters, diaries, histories, travel books, political pamphlets, and the like. The authors represent a wide cross-section of the populace, from scholars and statesmen to farmers, shopkeepers, sailors, and hunters. Mr. Whiting has combed all the obvious sources and hundreds of out-of-the-way publications of local journals and historical societies. This body of material, "because it covers territory that has not been extracted and compiled in a scholarly way before, can justly be said to be the most valuable of all those that Whiting has brought together," according to Albert B. Friedman. "What makes the work important is Whiting's authority: a proverb or proverbial phrase is what BJW thinks is a proverb or proverbial phrase. There is no objective operative definition of any value, no divining rod; his tact, 'feel, ' experience, determine what's the real thing and what is spurious."

It is an ill battle where the devil carries the colors. It is an ill procession where the devil holds the candle. It is easy to bid the devil be your guest, but difficult to get rid of him. It is good sometimes to hold ...

Author: Various

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN: EAN:8596547114604

Category: Fiction

Page: 1011

View: 967

DOWNLOAD & READ
DigiCat Publishing presents to you this special edition of "Proverbs, Maxims and Phrases of All Ages" by Various. DigiCat Publishing considers every written word to be a legacy of humankind. Every DigiCat book has been carefully reproduced for republishing in a new modern format. The books are available in print, as well as ebooks. DigiCat hopes you will treat this work with the acknowledgment and passion it deserves as a classic of world literature.
2022-08-01 By Various

It is an ill battle where the devil carries the colors . 42. It is an ill procession where the devil holds the candle . 43. It is easy to bid the devil be your guest , but difficult to get rid of him . Dan . 44.

Author: Robert Christy

Publisher:

ISBN: SRLF:AA0016126625

Category: Maxims

Page:

View: 795

DOWNLOAD & READ
1888 By Robert Christy

It is an ill battle where the devil carries the colors . 42. It is an ill procession where the devil holds the candle . 43. It is easy to bid the devil be your guest , but difficult to get rid of him . Dan . 44.

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:319510018707217

Category: Maxims

Page:

View: 732

DOWNLOAD & READ
1888 By

[Smyth, Lives Berkeleys III.28—1885] a man must sometimes set a candle before the devil [Paston Letter 1461 Nrf] It is at times politic to behave civilly even to your enemies. it's an ill procession where the devil holds the candle ...

Author: P.R. Wilkinson

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781134474141

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 896

View: 854

DOWNLOAD & READ
This fascinating collection of traditional metaphors and figures of speech, groups expressions according to theme. The second edition includes over 1,500 new entries, more information on first known usages, a new introduction and two expanded indexes. It will appeal to those interested in cultural history and the English language.
2003-09-02 By P.R. Wilkinson

Rocky Mountain News praise for WHEN THE DEVIL HOLDS THE CANDLE “Either somebody just slid an ice cube down your back or you're reading the opening pages of When the Devil Holds the Candle . . . a psychological tour de force.

Author: Karin Fossum

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780547537542

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 705

DOWNLOAD & READ
Ida Joner gets on her brand-new bike and sets off toward town. A good-natured, happy girl, she is looking forward to her tenth birthday. Thirty-five minutes after Ida should have come home, her mother starts to worry. She phones store owners, Ida’s friends—anyone who could have seen her. But no one has. Suspicion immediately falls on Emil Mork, a local character who lives alone and hasn’t spoken since childhood. His mother insists on cleaning his house weekly—although she’s sometimes afraid of what she might find there. A mother’s worst nightmare in either case—to lose a child or to think a child capable of murder. As Ida’s relatives reach the breaking point and the media frenzy surrounding the case begins, Inspector Konrad Sejer is his usual calm and reassuring self. But he’s puzzled. And disturbed. This is the strangest case he’s seen in years.
2009-08-10 By Karin Fossum

His conscience never stands in his light when the devil holds a candle to him , for he has stretched it so thin that it is transparent . He is an engineer of treachery , fraud , and perfidiousness , and knows how to manage matters of ...

Author: sir Thomas Overbury

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:600062416

Category:

Page:

View: 620

DOWNLOAD & READ