Search Results for the-puritan-princess

This is beautifully written, exciting fiction from a writer in full command of the history' Suzannah Lipscomb 'A fine and compelling debut novel, giving a fresh slant on a period of British history still unfamiliar to many.

Author: Miranda Malins

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781409194828

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 375

DOWNLOAD & READ
Power, passion and a devastating fight for the crown - discover the gripping story of Oliver Cromwell's youngest daughter. Perfect for fans of Anne O'Brien, Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory 1657. The youngest daughter of Oliver Cromwell, eighteen-year-old Frances is finding her place at England's new centre of power. Following the turmoil of Civil War, a fragile sense of stability has returned to the country. Her father has risen to the unprecedented position of Lord Protector of the Commonwealth, and Frances has found herself transported from her humble childhood home to the sumptuous palaces of Hampton Court and Whitehall, where she dreams of romance. But after an assassination attempt on the Cromwell family, Frances realises the precarious danger of her position - and when her father is officially offered the crown, Frances' fate becomes a matter of diplomatic and dynastic importance. Trapped in the web of court intrigue, Frances must make a choice. Allow herself to be a political pawn, or use her new status to take control - of her own future, and of her country's... *** Readers are swept away by The Puritan Princess: 'There is much to enjoy in this evocation of a family whose lives are so upended by the convulsions of history' Antonia Senior, The Times 'This engaging novel brings one of the most momentous but least well known periods of English history vividly to life.' Carolyn Kirby, author of THE CONVICTION OF CORA BURNS 'Miranda Malins has offered us a thrilling debut novel, packed with expert scene-setting and juicy details, bringing to life her characters with aplomb and as a result allowing readers to revel in 17th century England's epicentre of power.' Prof Michael Scott, University of Warwick 'Simply brilliant' Rachel Phipps, blogger 'A fresh look at the Cromwell family . . . perfect reading in lockdown' The Punch 'Started reading The Puritan Princess last night and stayed up reading it until the wee small hours. Really well written and gripping stuff. Can't wait to get back to it this evening!' 'Passion, power and politics, what a treat. Utterly brilliant' 'A delightful evening. Absolutely loving The Puritan Princess' 'Fabulous book - the perfect escape'
2020-04-02 By Miranda Malins

This is beautifully written, exciting fiction from a writer in full command of the history' Suzannah Lipscomb 'This engaging novel brings one of the most momentous but least well known periods of English history vividly to life.

Author: Miranda Malins

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781409194873

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 452

DOWNLOAD & READ
A country torn apart by war. A woman fighting for her future... Ely, 1643. England is convulsed by Civil War, setting King against Parliament and neighbour against neighbour. As the turmoil reaches her family home in Ely, 19-year-old Bridget Cromwell finds herself at the heart of the conflict. With her father's star on the rise as a cavalry commander for the rebellious Parliament, Bridget has her own ambitions for a life beyond marriage and motherhood. And as fractures appear in her own family with the wilful, beautiful younger sister Betty, Bridget faces a choice: to follow her heart, or to marry for power and influence, and fight for a revolution that will change history... A gripping evocation of the Civil War, and the hidden stories of women at the heart of power... Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Anne O'Brien *** Praise for The Puritan Princess 'There is much to enjoy in this evocation of a family whose lives are so upended by the convulsions of history' Antonia Senior, The Times 'Totally gripping... grab it now. There's a new Cromwell on the shelves!' Minoo Dinshaw, author of Outlandish Knight 'The Puritan Princess is a genuinely moving portrait of the tragedy of the Cromwells at the height of their power, and Miranda Malins handles the tumultuous drama of the last days of the Protectorate with incredible aplomb' S G MacLean, author of the Damian Seeker series 'A beautifully written and captivating true story of personal love and loss enacted against the backdrop of an England dominated by Frances' father, Oliver Cromwell. Deeply knowledgeable about the politics and desires and ideals of the time, Malins nevertheless inhabits her characters and brings them convincingly to life' James Evans, author of EMIGRANTS 'The extraordinary, revealing and moving relationship between Oliver Cromwell and his daughter Frances is brought to vivid life in this masterly historical novel' Paul Lay, author of Providence Lost 'Miranda Malins is a real and fresh new talent. This is beautifully written, exciting fiction from a writer in full command of the history' Suzannah Lipscomb 'This engaging novel brings one of the most momentous but least well known periods of English history vividly to life.' Carolyn Kirby, author of THE CONVICTION OF CORA BURNS
2022-02-17 By Miranda Malins

Author: Lynda Gilfillan

Publisher:

ISBN: OCLC:123799338

Category: Politics in literature

Page: 410

View: 445

DOWNLOAD & READ
1985 By Lynda Gilfillan

The Puritan Princess. Not included in the count for this book were plays, TV and films. Allen, Irving (1970). Cromwell [Film]. Company Pictures. (2008).

Author: Farah Mendlesohn

Publisher: Springer Nature

ISBN: 9783030545376

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 315

View: 137

DOWNLOAD & READ
This book considers the English Civil Wars and the civil wars in Scotland and Ireland through the lens of historical fiction—primarily fiction for the young. The text argues that the English Civil War lies at the heart of English and Irish political identities and considers how these identities have been shaped over the past three centuries in part by the children’s literature that has influenced the popular memory of the English Civil War. Examining nearly two hundred works of historical fiction, Farah Mendlesohn reveals the delicate interplay between fiction and history.
2020-09-23 By Farah Mendlesohn

asked the princess , to be injurious , mon ami . Speak freely as the old lady stopped once more . and eloquently , as is your wont , lest “ Unless something happens to pre- later on you suffer from the strain of vent him .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: CHI:79362197

Category: Women's periodicals

Page:

View: 119

DOWNLOAD & READ
1901 By

80458 Princess Lamberta , Philena of Greenbush , 82057 Potoma , 79388 Princess Landseer , 2d , Philippia Hugo ... 80746 Princess Eloise , 81531 Puritan Princess , Pomimo , 79687 Puncess Eugenia , 82787 ¡ Puritan's Jersey Belle , .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B3243509

Category:

Page:

View: 350

DOWNLOAD & READ
1893 By

In the Year 1614. he proceeded Doctor of Divinity , after which he travellid into Germany , and became Chaplain to the Princess Pala- , tine ...

Author: Daniel Neal

Publisher:

ISBN: UCD:31175035523516

Category: Great Britain

Page:

View: 661

DOWNLOAD & READ
1736 By Daniel Neal

Author: Julien Gordon

Publisher:

ISBN: PRNC:32101068168325

Category: Man-woman relationships

Page: 367

View: 346

DOWNLOAD & READ
1891 By Julien Gordon

He was a constant Resident in his Diocese , and a good old Puritan , who never ... which of the was , Marrying the Princess Mary , eldest Daughter Orange of ...

Author: Daniel Neal

Publisher:

ISBN: OSU:32435019116235

Category: Great Britain

Page:

View: 706

DOWNLOAD & READ
1738 By Daniel Neal

The representatives best fitted to secure this end were Presbyterians and Puritans , and accordingly a much larger ... the Princess of Orange , sister of Charles II . , invited his daughter Anne to become one of her ladies in waiting .

Author: Peter Bayne

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433069359192

Category: Electronic book

Page: 512

View: 797

DOWNLOAD & READ
1879 By Peter Bayne

Considering the complexion of that series of Queen Elizabeth was a great and successful events through which Mr. Neal's History conprincess at home ...

Author: Daniel Neal

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433075871404

Category: Great Britain

Page:

View: 538

DOWNLOAD & READ
1844 By Daniel Neal

مایه ای اس آیا اور اس I Per chez of princes . She understood not the rights of conscience in matters of religion ; and is therefore juftly chargeable with ...

Author: Daniel Neal

Publisher:

ISBN: UVA:X001607398

Category: Great Britain

Page:

View: 449

DOWNLOAD & READ
1793 By Daniel Neal

... where she gave herself wholly to study , meddling in no sort of business , being always apprehensive of having spies about her . The princess complied ...

Author: Daniel Neal

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433061825513

Category: Dissenters, Religious

Page: 614

View: 102

DOWNLOAD & READ
1811 By Daniel Neal

Southey says, that Henry VIII. set the example of giving his daughters a learned education. Savile was tutor in both Greek and Mathematics to the Princess Elizabeth; who was found to keep up her studious habits 306 THE PURITAN BIBLE.

Author: William James Heaton

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:$B686468

Category: Bible

Page: 345

View: 224

DOWNLOAD & READ

See also Leicester , Earl of Dudley and Gray faction , leaders of the Puritans , temp . ... suit of Prince of Orange for the hand of Princess Mary , 251 ; lords at the Court of Charles I. , quarrels between , 253 ; war of 1664 , 411 .

Author: Agnes Strickland

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105048746510

Category: Electronic book

Page: 496

View: 348

DOWNLOAD & READ

nized head of the Puritan party in England , and the patron of every divine who had written against her , but the friend and maintainer of several turbulent Scotch preachers who had troubled her government by the advocacy of republican ...

Author: Agnes Strickland

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:$B756948

Category: Princesses

Page:

View: 618

DOWNLOAD & READ

The king attempts to convert the princess of Orange to popery . The princess's reply . He attempts the prince . His Highness's reply bý pensionary .

Author: Daniel Neal

Publisher:

ISBN: UVA:X004332111

Category: Great Britain

Page:

View: 356

DOWNLOAD & READ
1797 By Daniel Neal

only is puritan domestic conduct theory indistinguishable from that of the ... Juan Luis Vives , tutor to the Princess Mary , 98 CHRISTIAN HUMANISM AND THE ...

Author: Margo Todd

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 0521892287

Category: Political Science

Page: 304

View: 414

DOWNLOAD & READ
The author contends that the traditional views of puritan social thought have done a great injustice to the intellectual history of the 16th-century. Margo Todd reveals the puritans to be the heirs to a complex intellectual legacy.
2002-11-07 By Margo Todd

This has to do with the Puritan Princess' pukey past—porno. It seems the luscious Aasha Rani can be lascivious too... for a price, naturally.

Author: Shobhaa De

Publisher: Penguin Books India

ISBN: 9780143418108

Category:

Page:

View: 834

DOWNLOAD & READ
Aashi Rani, the unrivalled number one of Bombay cinema, seems intent on ruining her career and her life blinded by a scorching passion that threatens to destroy everything she has attained.
2013-01-29 By Shobhaa De

... and then died in the seventieth year of her age , and forty - fifth of her reign . Queen Elizabeth was a great and successful princess ...

Author: Daniel Neal

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:31951002053417J

Category: Great Britain

Page:

View: 602

DOWNLOAD & READ
1837 By Daniel Neal

Best Books