Search Results for the-honey-farm

HONEY FARM was in a valley in the northeastern part of the province, not far from the old river mouth. Islanded between Timmins on the Ontario side, La Sarre on the Quebec side, and the Abitibi Indian Reserve to the northwest, the farm ...

Author: Harriet Alida Lye

Publisher: Liveright Publishing

ISBN: 9781631494352

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 962

DOWNLOAD & READ
Lily King meets Patricia Highsmith in this slyly seductive debut set on an eerily beautiful farm teeming with secrets. The drought has discontented the bees. Soil dries into sand; honeycomb stiffens into wax. But Cynthia knows how to breathe life back into her farm: offer it as an artists’ colony with free room, board, and “life experience” in exchange for backbreaking labor. Silvia, a wide-eyed graduate and would-be poet, and Ibrahim, a painter distracted by constant inspiration, are drawn to Cynthia’s offer, and soon, to each other. But something lies beneath the surface. The Edenic farm is plagued by events that strike Silvia as ominous: taps run red, scalps itch with lice, frogs swarm the pond. One by one, the other residents leave. As summer tenses into autumn, Cynthia’s shadowed past is revealed and Silvia becomes increasingly paralyzed by doubt. Building to a shocking conclusion, The Honey Farm announces the arrival of a bold new voice and offers a thrilling portrait of creation and possession in the natural world.
2018-05-29 By Harriet Alida Lye

'That's why we need to open up the honey factory again. The tourists in the towns will still buy honey.' 'So why did it close down, Kostas, the honey farm?' He turns away and carries on walking. 'The herbs began to disappear and we ...

Author: Jo Thomas

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781472223739

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 671

DOWNLOAD & READ
'Perfect escapist magic' Good Housekeeping 'Jo's book is as rich and sweet and moreish as baklava' Milly Johnson Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews, Jo Thomas's irresistible, sun-filled novel transports you straight to the mountains of Crete. Sometimes you have to go back before you can move forwards... One magical summer Nell fell in love in the mountains of Crete and her life changed for ever. Eighteen years later, Nell is ready for a new beginning. When she sees a honey farm in the same hilltop town has lost its bees, the opportunity is impossible to resist. Welcomed back to Greece by the warm sun and aroma of wild thyme, Nell finds memories of her past at every turn. But much has changed since she's been away. As Nell throws herself into restoring the honey farm, she starts to unlock the truth of what happened all those years ago. She soon learns that the course of true love - just like Cretan honey - can be wild and sweet. And well worth the wait... Jo Thomas takes you there. Readers are raving about THE HONEY FARM ON THE HILL: 'Jo Thomas has the ability in her writing to take you right there' I Read Novels 'Incredibly enjoyable ... could practically smell the herbs in the air' Rachel's Random Reads 'I absolutely loved this book ... a darned good story' Julie's World of Books 'So richly imagined and so wonderfully written - highly recommended!' On My Bookshelf 'Superb escapism! ... the way the views, smells, sounds of the island are captured are spectacular' Be Reader Books 'Jo Thomas is a purveyor of dreams. I defy anybody to read this book and at the end of it not to dream a little of the Cretan life' Short Books and Scribes 'Warm, sensual and heartwarming' Books, Life and Everything 'A charming and delightful slice of escapist romantic fiction' Heat 'The ultimate cheery tale' Sun
2017-08-24 By Jo Thomas

Building to a shocking conclusion, The Honey Farm announces the arrival of a bold new voice and offers a thrilling portrait of creation and possession in the natural world.

Author: Harriet Alida Lye

Publisher: Vagrant Press

ISBN: 1771086106

Category:

Page: 320

View: 851

DOWNLOAD & READ
Vintage Margaret Atwood meets Patricia Highsmith in this slyly seductive debut set on an eerily beautiful farm teeming with secrets. The drought has discontented the bees. Soil dries into sand; honeycomb stiffens into wax. But Cynthia knows how to breathe life back into her farm: offer it as an artists' colony with free room, board, and "life experience" in exchange for backbreaking labour. Silvia, a wide-eyed graduate and would-be poet, and Ibrahim, a painter distracted by constant inspiration, are drawn to Cynthia's offer, and soon, to each other. But something lies beneath the surface. The edenic farm is plagued by events that strike Silvia as ominous: taps run red, scalps itch with lice, frogs swarm the pond. One by one, the other residents leave. As summer tenses into autumn, Cynthia's shadowed past is revealed and Silvia becomes increasingly paralyzed by doubt. Building to a shocking conclusion, The Honey Farm announces the arrival of a bold new voice and offers a thrilling portrait of creation and possession in the natural world.
2018-04-15 By Harriet Alida Lye

The honey sources of the day are about dried up by three p.m. , and the bees do not often work actively after that time . As in the early morning , they then carry in much water to help in preparing the food for the young , a mixture of ...

Author: Samuel Simmins

Publisher:

ISBN: WISC:89098889025

Category: Bee culture

Page: 274

View: 531

DOWNLOAD & READ
1893 By Samuel Simmins

Commercial beekeepers depend for survival on the combination of pollination rental fees , the Honey Price Support Program , and receipts for marketing of their honey . Prior to the 1985 farm bill , the Honey Price Support Program was ...

Author: United States. Congress. House. Committee on Agriculture

Publisher:

ISBN: UVA:X001695244

Category: Agricultural laws and legislation

Page:

View: 335

DOWNLOAD & READ

Author: Robert Orlando Beater Manley

Publisher:

ISBN: CORNELL:31924059251227

Category: Bee culture

Page: 293

View: 946

DOWNLOAD & READ

Lily King meets Patricia Highsmith in this slyly seductive debut set on an eerily beautiful farm teeming with secrets.

Author: Harriet Alida Lye

Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print

ISBN: 1432855646

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 275

DOWNLOAD & READ
"Harriet Alida Lye lives in Toronto with her dog Fox. Her essays have been published in VICE, Hazlitt, the Happy Reader, the National Post, and more, and she was a writer-in-residence at Shakespeare & Company in Paris. The Honey Farm is her first novel."--
2018-08-02 By Harriet Alida Lye

BROWN HONEY FARMS Jerry and Donette Brown Haddam , Kansas 66944 913-778-2002 July 25 , 1985 Chairman Coelho and Congressman Daschle Members of the House Agriculture Subcommittee Livestock , Dairy and Poultry : Gentlemen : I am a member ...

Author: United States. Congress. House. Committee on Agriculture. Subcommittee on Department Operations, Research, and Foreign Agriculture

Publisher:

ISBN: UCBK:C041557154

Category: Agricultural credit

Page:

View: 825

DOWNLOAD & READ

The other has built himself a trim villa on a hillside, topped with a sheltering crest of pine-wood; and here he has established a great modern honey-farm, replete with every device and system of management known to apiarian scientists ...

Author: Tickner Edwardes

Publisher: Read Books Ltd

ISBN: 9781446546352

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 313

View: 308

DOWNLOAD & READ
Originally published in 1908, this is one of the earliest books on bee keeping and the natural history of the honey bee, with information on its natural history, bee society, anatomy, bee keeping, and much more. Full of fascinating information and detailed explanations, this timeless volume will be of considerable utility to modern bee keepers, and would make for a valuable addition to collections of related literature. Contents include: “The Oldest Craft Under the Sun”, “The Ancients and the Honey-Bee”, “The Isle of Honey”, “Bee-Masters in the Middle Ages”, “At The City Gates”, “The Commonwealth of the Hive”, “Early Works in the Bee-City”, “The Genesis of the Queen”, The Bride-Widow”, “The Sovereign Worker-Bee”, and more. Many classic bee books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. We are republishing this volume now in an affordable, high-quality edition complete with a specially commissioned new introduction on bee keeping.
2013-04-16 By Tickner Edwardes

The honey industry has been hurt by imported honey in the last 15 years because of the cheap labor in the third world countries . In 1985 Congress passed the farm bill which had a lower loan repayment program for honey .

Author: United States. Congress. House. Committee on Agriculture. Subcommittee on Wheat, Soybeans, and Feed Grains

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:31951003089002S

Category: Agricultural laws and legislation

Page: 306

View: 588

DOWNLOAD & READ