Search Results for storming-the-court-how-a-band-of-yale-law-students-sued-the-president-and-won

Describes how, in 1992, a group of Yale law students came to the aid of three hundred Haitian men, women, and children who had won asylum in the U.S. but who, having tested positive for HIV, were forced into a Guantanamo compound and ...

Author: Brandt Goldstein

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781416535157

Category: History

Page: 375

View: 644

DOWNLOAD & READ
Describes how, in 1992, a group of Yale law students came to the aid of three hundred Haitian men, women, and children who had won asylum in the U.S. but who, having tested positive for HIV, were forced into a Guantanamo compound and battled the Bush administration, the Justice Department, the American military, and the Supreme Court to achieve their release. Reprint. 25,000 first printing.
2006-12-12 By Brandt Goldstein

For commentary on the Haitian refugee litigation, see Brandt Goldstein, Storming the Court: How a Band of Yale Law Students Sued the President— and Won (2005); Creola Johnson, Quarantining HIV-Infected Haitians: United ...

Author: Skinner-Thompson, Scott

Publisher: Wolters Kluwer

ISBN: 9781543816426

Category: AIDS (Disease)

Page: 1368

View: 565

DOWNLOAD & READ
AIDS and the Law, Sixth Edition AIDS and the Law provides comprehensive coverage of the complex legal issues, as well as the underlying medical and scientific issues, surrounding the HIV epidemic. Covering a broad range of legal fields from employment to health care to housing and privacy rights, this essential resource provides thorough up-to-date coverage of a rapidly changing area of law. AIDS and the Law brings you up-to-date on the latest developments, including: Updates regarding additional consensus that Undetectable = Untransmittable (Chapter 2) Overview of continuing efforts to chip away at the Affordable Care Act (Chapter 2) Discussion regarding states now imposing work requirements for Medicaid (Chapter 9) Analysis of the Trump Administration's many changes to immigration policy, including policing of immigrants seeking public benefits (Chapter 11)Overview of the Department of Justice's decision regarding whether domestic violence can serve as the basis for asylum (Chapter 11) Updates on new Supreme Court precedent regarding exhaustion of administrative remedies under the Prison Litigation Reform Act (Chapter 14) New case law pertaining to the impact of HIV in the family law context (Chapter 13)
2019-12-17 By Skinner-Thompson, Scott

Legal Activism and its Radiating Effects in the United States and France Leila Kawar ... Brandt Goldstein, Storming the Court: How a Band of Yale Law Students Sued the President – and Won (New York: Scribner, 2005).

Author: Leila Kawar

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9781107071117

Category: Law

Page: 232

View: 942

DOWNLOAD & READ
This book explores the development of immigrant rights litigation over the past four decades in the United States and France.
2015-06-25 By Leila Kawar

It was not until I became a law professor at Yale in 1985 , teaching Procedure myself , that the subject finally came to ... Goldstein's nonfiction novel , Storming the Court : How a Band of Yale Law Students Sued the Presidentand Won .

Author: Brandt Goldstein

Publisher: Aspen Law & Business

ISBN: STANFORD:36105134463590

Category: Law

Page: 273

View: 680

DOWNLOAD & READ
A Documentary Companion to Storming the Court, using key litigation documents, leads the reader through the high-profile lawsuit chronicled in Storming the Court, a nonfiction title by Brandt Goldstein that tracks the lawsuit filed by human rights lawyers and Yale law students on behalf of Haitian refugees detained at the American Navy base in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba. Following in the tradition of books such as The Buffalo Creek Disaster and A Civil Action, Storming the Court is an engaging, easy-to-read account of a complex civil trial in which law students play many of the key roles. Meticulously documented to make moving between the original book and the companion trouble-free, this lively, accessible book will provoke energetic discussion and debate among your students. Suitable for use in any civil procedure course, the documentary companion: Uses the real case to illustrate a wide array of important legal concepts, particularly those taught in first-year civil procedure Includes key litigation documents and other original materials from the case along with notes, comments, hypotheticals, and questions that serve as excellent teaching tools Features photos of the key characters in the lawsuit and of the naval base at Guantanamo Bay, which further enhances the realism for students What better way to bring litigation to life for your students and help them understand what the concepts and rules look like in practice than to follow a complex trial step-by-step. A Documentary Companion to Storming the Court takes a gripping and extremely readable book and turns it into a powerful teaching tool.

72 Brandt Goldstein, Storming the Court: How a Band of Yale Law Students Sued the President– And Won (Simon and Schuster, 2005), 115. 73 McNary v Haitian Centers Council, Inc., 503 US 1000 (1992). 74 Goldstein, n 72 in this chapter, ...

Author: Azadeh Dastyari

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9781107101005

Category: Law

Page: 288

View: 272

DOWNLOAD & READ
Based on author's thesis, (doctoral - Monash University).
2015-07-30 By Azadeh Dastyari

56 See, e.g., BRANDT GOLDSTEIN, STORMING THE COURT: HOW A BAND OF YALE LAW STUDENTS SUED THE PRESIDENT—AND WON (2005) (describing the litigation in Sale v. Haitian Centers Council, 509 U.S. 155 (1993)); RICHARD DANZIG & GEOFFREY R.

Author: William J. Aceves

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9781571053527

Category: Political Science

Page: 793

View: 855

DOWNLOAD & READ
This is the story of one of the most significant examples of human rights litigation in the U.S., presented as a documentary history. The pleadings and documents appear with minimal editing and are supplemented through commentary.
2007-01-01 By William J. Aceves

Storming the Court: How a Band of Yale Law Students Sued the President— and Won. New York: Scribner, 2005. Golumbic, Court E. “Closing the Open Door: The Impact of the Human Immunodeficiency Virus Exclusion on the Legalization Program ...

Author: Karma R. Chávez

Publisher: University of Washington Press

ISBN: 9780295748986

Category: Social Science

Page: 272

View: 254

DOWNLOAD & READ
As soon as US media and politicians became aware of AIDS in the early 1980s, fingers were pointed not only at the gay community but also at other countries and migrant communities, particularly Haitians, as responsible for spreading the virus. Evangelical leaders, public health officials, and the Reagan administration quickly capitalized on widespread fear of the new disease to call for quarantines, immigration bans, and deportations, scapegoating and blaming HIV-positive migrants—even as the rest of the world regarded the US as the primary exporter of the virus. In The Borders of AIDS, Karma Chávez demonstrates how such calls proliferated and how failure to impose a quarantine for HIV-positive citizens morphed into the successful enactment of a complete ban on the regularization of HIV-positive migrants—which lasted more than twenty years. News reports, congressional records, and AIDS activist archives reveal how queer groups and migrant communities built fragile coalitions to fight against the alienation of themselves and others, asserting their capacity for resistance and resiliency. Building on existing histories of HIV/AIDS, public health, citizenship, and immigration, Chávez establishes how politicians and public health officials treated different communities with HIV/AIDS and highlights the work these communities did to resist alienation.
2021-06-25 By Karma R. Chávez

See Brandt Goldstein, Storming the Court: How a Band of Yale Law Students Sued the President—And Won (New York: Scribner, 2005). Chapter 2 1. Julian Borger, “Cargo of 'Worst' al-Qaida Captives Unloads in Cuba,” The Guardian, January 12, ...

Author: Jonathan Hafetz

Publisher: NYU Press

ISBN: 9780814724408

Category: Political Science

Page: 323

View: 968

DOWNLOAD & READ
Examines the rise of an American-run global detention system, including Guantâanamo Bay, Bagram Air Base in Afghanistan, and secret CIA jails, and discusses efforts that are being made to challenge this new prison system through habeas corpus.
2012-08-20 By Jonathan Hafetz

Storming the Court: How a Band of Yale Law Students Sued the President and Won. New York: Scribner, 2005. Greenberg, Karen. The Least Worst Place: GuantanamoÊs First 100 Days. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.

Author: Alan McPherson

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 9781598842609

Category: History

Page: 804

View: 986

DOWNLOAD & READ
This unique reference shows how the United States has intervened militarily, politically, and economically in Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from the early 19th century to the present day. • Covers all acts of involvement by the United States in Latin American affairs, including proxy wars, spying, and economic coercion • Contributions from leading military experts and historians from across the globe • Presents a timeline of significant events involving the region • Includes important tables and charts for additional reinforcement
2013-07-08 By Alan McPherson

Storming the Court: How a Band of Yale Law Students Sued the President—and Won. New York: Scribner. Gollobin, Ira. 1987. Winds of Change: An Immigration Lawyer's Perspective of Fifty Years. New York: Center for Immigrant Rights Inc.

Author: Jeffrey S. Kahn

Publisher: Chicago Series in Law and Soci

ISBN: 9780226587417

Category: History

Page: 352

View: 744

DOWNLOAD & READ
Introduction -- The political and the economic -- Border laboratories -- Contagion and the sovereign body -- Screening's architecture -- The jurisdictional imagination -- Interdiction adrift
2019-01-03 By Jeffrey S. Kahn