Search Results for men-women-and-aggression

A major contribution in the tradition of You Just Don't Understand and In a Different Voice, this book offers a new understanding of a vital issue.

Author: Anne Campbell

Publisher: Basic Books

ISBN: 0465044506

Category: Psychology

Page: 208

View: 845

DOWNLOAD & READ
Why are men more aggressive than women? To find out, psychologist and criminologist Anne Campbell listened to the voices of ordinary men and women, as well as people for whom aggression is a central fact of life—robbers and gang members. The answer, she argues, lies not only in biology or in child rearing but in how men and women form opinions about their own aggression. Women believe their aggression results from a loss of self-control, while men see their behavior as a means of gaining control over others. Daughters are deeply ashamed when they get angry, but sons learn to associate aggression with integrity, courage, and triumph. Campbell shows how men's and women's different views of anger and restraint profoundly affect their actions—from rage in marriage to violence in the streets—and what this means for us all. The misreading of the meaning of aggression drives a wedge between the sexes, affecting everything from their ability to communicate with each other to the way that traditionally male-dominated spheres such as law or medicine pathologize and punish women's aggression. The book draws together two research areas that have had little dialogue with one another—aggression and gender differences—to present for the first time a theory of their interrelationship. The book also reveals the links between criminal violence and psychological processes common to all of us. A major contribution in the tradition of You Just Don't Understand and In a Different Voice, this book offers a new understanding of a vital issue.
1994-09-09 By Anne Campbell

Psychologist and criminologist Anne Campbell listens to the voices of men and women as they describe their aggressive feelings, and constructs an approach to the vexed topic of gender and aggression.

Author: Anne Campbell

Publisher:

ISBN: IND:30000039117159

Category: Aggressiveness

Page: 196

View: 333

DOWNLOAD & READ
Psychologist and criminologist Anne Campbell listens to the voices of men and women as they describe their aggressive feelings, and constructs an approach to the vexed topic of gender and aggression. She argues that the crucial difference between female and male aggressiveness is that men see aggression as a means of gaining control over others, while women see it as a loss of self-control. Daughters are deeply ashamed when they get angry, but sons soon learn to associate aggression with courage and triumph. The implications of this, from rage within intimate relationships to violence in the streets and the attitude of the male establishment - including the judiciary - to women's anger and aggression, are explored.
1993 By Anne Campbell

Sarah Sorial and Jacqui Poltera Introduction Rape is a ubiquitous, gendered crime overwhelmingly committed by men against women.1 Being raped can severely damage a woman's capacity for autonomy and change the structure of her will.

Author: Heather Widdows

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 9781137015129

Category: Philosophy

Page: 257

View: 494

DOWNLOAD & READ
Chapter 4 of this book is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license via link.springer.com. This edited collection explores the agency of women who do violence and have violence done to them. Topics covered include rape, pornography, prostitution, suicide bombing and domestic violence. The volume contributes to the philosophical and theoretical debate, as well as offering practical, social and political responses to the issues examined.
2015-09-29 By Heather Widdows

Quebec's Women Writers Re-frame Gender in North American Cultures Paula Ruth Gilbert ... (23) Why Women Kill: Male and Female Aggression and Violence In her book Men, Women, and Aggression Anne Campbell writes convincingly of what she ...

Author: Paula Ruth Gilbert

Publisher: McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP

ISBN: 9780773577107

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 440

View: 536

DOWNLOAD & READ
In the past twenty years Quebec women writers, including Aline Chamberland, Claire Dé, Suzanne Jacob, and Hélène Rioux, have created female characters who are fascinated with bold sexual actions and language, cruelty, and violence, at times culminating in infanticide and serial killing. Paula Ruth Gilbert argues that these Quebec feminist writers are "re-framing" gender. Violence and the Female Imagination explores whether these imagined women are striking out at an external other or harming themselves through acts of self-destruction and depression. Gilbert examines the degree to which women are imitating men in the outward direction of their anger and hostility and suggests that such "tough" women may be mocking men in their "macho" exploits of sexuality and violence. She illustrates the ways in which Quebec female authors are "feminizing" violence or re-envisioning gender in North American culture. Gilbert bridges methodological gaps and integrates history, sociology, literary theory, feminist theory, and other disciplinary approaches to provide a framework for the discussion of important ethical and aesthetic questions.
2006-03-31 By Paula Ruth Gilbert

In particular, the predominance of women reporting use of aggression in intimate relationships can be partially explained by gender differences in environments conducive to the learning of courtship violence. Men and women are thus ...

Author: Ronald L. Akers

Publisher: Transaction Publishers

ISBN: 9781412812344

Category: Social Science

Page: 379

View: 288

DOWNLOAD & READ
Social learning theory has been called the dominant theory of crime and delinquency in the United States, yet it is often misrepresented. This latest volume in the distinguished Advances in Criminological Theory series explores the impact of this theory. Some equate it with differential association theory. Others depict it as little more than a micro-level appendage to cultural deviance theories. There have been earlier attempts to clarify the theory's unique features in comparison to other theories, and others have applied it to broader issues. These efforts are extended in this volume, which focuses on developing, applying, and testing the theory on a variety of criminal and delinquent behavior. It applies the theory to treatment and prevention, moving social learning into a global context for the twenty-first century. This comprehensive volume includes the latest work, tests, and theoretical advances in social learning theory and will be particularly helpful to criminologists, sociologists, and psychologists. It may also be of interest to those concerned with current issues relating to delinquency, drug use/abuse, and drinking/alcohol abuse.
2011-12-31 By Ronald L. Akers

This book provides a comprehensive compilation and discussion of research findings on female aggression from antropology, social psychology, animal research, case studies and representation in literature.

Author: Kaj Björkqvist

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015050415093

Category: Psychology

Page: 448

View: 504

DOWNLOAD & READ
This book provides a comprehensive compilation and discussion of research findings on female aggression from antropology, social psychology, animal research, case studies and representation in literature. This multidisciplinary approach addresses such questions as are females more aggressive than males?, is female aggressive behaviour perhaps qualitatively, not quantitatively, different than male aggressive behaviour'. The book also examines patterns of aggression, the role of hormones in aggression, cultural differences, and how human aggression differs from aggression within animal species.
1992 By Kaj Björkqvist

Of the reported cases , 14.2 per cent involved women as perpetrators of violence in the family . ... Though women's aggression against men was a rare phenomenon in the traditional society in Africa , this trend is changing , not only in ...

Author: Codesria

Publisher: African Books Collective

ISBN: STANFORD:36105028874605

Category: Social Science

Page: 187

View: 355

DOWNLOAD & READ
Gender based violence is alarmingly widespread across cultures. Research is in its initial stages in Africa, with few statistics and resources. There is, too, little relevant legislation. This selection ofpapers from the 1997 CODESRIA Gender Institute gathering which included participants from eight African countries. The six contributors highlight how universal attitudes of male dominance and patriarchy can literally engender aculture of violence in which women and children are the victims. Case studies from East and West Africa are included.
2000 By Codesria

Author: Alix Kirsta

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015032912571

Category: Aggressiveness

Page: 436

View: 493

DOWNLOAD & READ
1994 By Alix Kirsta

violence. This was also the case for some UK interviewees who were involved in setting up crèches (childcare facilities) to ... and vigils of men, because there is a specific section in society of men against violence against women.

Author: Westmarland, Nicole

Publisher: Policy Press

ISBN: 9781447356196

Category: Social Science

Page: 158

View: 513

DOWNLOAD & READ
EPUB and EPDF available Open Access under CC-BY-NC-ND licence. This book draws attention to those men who take action to end violence against women. The authors demonstrate what we can learn from their experiences to help build the movement to end violence against women.
2021-07-20 By Westmarland, Nicole

Carefully organized and tightly edited, this insightful book considers potential causes of men′s violence against women, utilizing a variety of theoretical perspectives.

Author: Michele Harway

Publisher: SAGE Publications

ISBN: 9781506338774

Category: Psychology

Page: 312

View: 318

DOWNLOAD & READ
This book uses various theoretical perspectives to summarize what is known about the multiple causes of men's violence against women, and stresses the importance of identifying men's risk factors. The preliminary multivariate model identifies four content areas: macrosocietal; biological; gender role socialization; and relational factors to explain men's violence against women. Within these four content areas the editors develop thirteen preliminary hypotheses about the causes of men's violence against women, which are critiqued by the contributors in the subsequent chapters.
1999-09-09 By Michele Harway