Search Results for book-talk

Future innovations will occur : books will talk , emit music , provide fast and easy links to references , and project supplemental pictures to the text . Electronic books soon will be more legible , portable , interactive , flexible ...

Author: Robert H. Jackson

Publisher: Oak Knoll Press

ISBN: 1584561882

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 265

View: 622

DOWNLOAD & READ
Following in the tradition of John Carter, Graham Pollard, and Michael Sadlier, Book Talk: Essays on Books, Booksellers, Collecting and Special Collectionstakes the reader on a tour of some major ideas and controversies now current in the rare book world. Robert H. Jackson has assembled these writings of an eminent group of scholors, publishers, librarians, booksellers, and collectors that address issues facing contemporary society. Topics such as the future of the book in a printed-format, the internet and collecting trends are some of the issues discussed. This important work belongs on the reading list of all book lovers.

It is in sitting with children, facilitating their noticings, and allowing their observations to guide our book ... to watch other teachers engage with their students and to talk with them about their experiences and pedagogical growth.

Author: Sherry Sanden

Publisher: Teachers College Press

ISBN: 9780807765708

Category: Education

Page: 176

View: 218

DOWNLOAD & READ
"This book envisions the language and learning possibilities of young children's active engagement in literature discussion, which is not often found in books about early read-alouds. This book promotes read-aloud experiences that keep children, their backgrounds, and their experiences front and center. This book shares our journey, as educators and researchers, with a goal to support the learning journey of other early childhood educators. This book includes vignettes from classroom literature discussions as well as conversations between educators"--
2021 By Sherry Sanden

BOOK CLUBS Many classes enjoy reading books in smaller groups sometimes called book clubs . ... Book clubs may meet for sharing discussions at the close of the reading time or give “ book talks ” about their selections .

Author: Jean F. Bernholz

Publisher: Good Year Books

ISBN: 0673360059

Category: Education

Page: 294

View: 128

DOWNLOAD & READ
Educational resource for teachers, parents and kids!

Orally apprehensive students can be paired up with a stronger orator who will take the lead and model the talk. Sometimes the teacher may want to pair up with the reluctant speaker, first modeling the book talk with a book he or she has ...

Author: Sandra F. Rief, M.A.

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 9780787988050

Category: Education

Page: 352

View: 250

DOWNLOAD & READ
How to Reach and Teach All Children Through Balanced Literacy offers you a handbook for teaching literacy to diverse students in grades 3-8. The balanced literacy method combines the best practices of phonics and other skill-based language instruction with the holistic, literature-based approach in order to help you teach reading, writing, and speaking in a clear and approachable format. This dynamic resource offers an easily accessible research-based approach to balanced literacy that is grounded in the innovative ideas developed by authors Sandra F. Rief and Julie A. Heimburge. The book includes detailed descriptions of what a balanced literacy classroom looks like and shows how to create a program from the ground up or give your existing program a boost. The book can be used across content areas and is filled with reproducible worksheets, activities, and other handy classroom tools. Some topics covered include: Shared book experiences Reading aloud Oral language and vocabulary development Guided reading for comprehension Modeled writing Reading and writing conferences Book clubs Content area reading and writing Ongoing assessments Enhancing literacy through technology
2007-08-17 By Sandra F. Rief, M.A.

She has provided book - talk programming at libraries , assisted - living facilities , senior complexes ... Natke offers the following tips for presenting effective book talks for seniors : their families aware that the library is ...

Author: Barbara T. Mates

Publisher: American Library Association

ISBN: 0838908438

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 154

View: 471

DOWNLOAD & READ
As the population approaches 55 and above, libraries are faced with an opportunity to serve an underserved population. In this handbook, Barbara Mates explains the ins and outs of planning, developing, marketing and finding successful programmes and services for the greying population.
2003-02-07 By Barbara T. Mates

Book Talks Understanding the context for This Lesson A book talk is a time set aside for simply talking about a book that students may or may not have read ; it is a way for teachers , parents , and peers to share their feelings ...

Author: Douglas Ray Reutzel

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

ISBN: 0439260825

Category: Education

Page: 128

View: 337

DOWNLOAD & READ
Ready to go far beyond the usual classroom book collection to make your library a dynamic support for all your literacy teaching? In this practical, one-of-a-kind book, two veteran educators show you how to use your library as: A resource for mini-lessons on book selection, author's craft, comprehension strategies and other literacy lessons. A source for interactive read-alouds. An extension of your shared-reading and guided-reading instruction. A motivating place for students' independent reading in many genres. A gallery of student book responses, recommendations, and student-authored works. And much more!

The Book Talk graphic organizer encourages students to personally engage with reading material to formulate independent opinions and ideas. • This activity promotes independent reading, and the graphic organizer helps students review ...

Author: Stephanie Macceca

Publisher: Shell Education

ISBN: 9781425803865

Category: Education

Page: 144

View: 420

DOWNLOAD & READ
Provides fresh, new graphic organizers to help students read, write, and comprehend content area materials. Helps students organize and retain information.

You, the reader, are the narrator of the book. —Colum McCann, author We don't know what we think about a book until we've talked about it. —Sarah, eight years old, in Tell Me by Aidan Chambers What Is It? Book talk invites teachers ...

Author: Larry Swartz

Publisher: Pembroke Publishers Limited

ISBN: 9781551389486

Category: Education

Page: 160

View: 438

DOWNLOAD & READ
Based on what we now know about reading, this practical book offers strategies in a consistent format that is easy for teachers to incorporate in their daily instruction. This grab-bag of classroom-tested activities allows teachers to choose what they need to meet the diverse needs of students in grades 1 through 8. These strategies guide students through the reading process and build important comprehension skills through reading, talk, art, drama, and more. These innovative ways to use the best children’s books will inspire students to become enthusiastic and avid readers, and take the first giant step into becoming lifelong readers.
2021-04-26 By Larry Swartz

Book Talks Conducted by Teachers and Students 1. Select a piece of children's literature. The book selected should be appropriate for a Book Talk and for sharing with other students. Although teachers have specific curricular purposes ...

Author: Patricia A. Antonacci

Publisher: SAGE Publications

ISBN: 9781452224138

Category: Education

Page: 336

View: 212

DOWNLOAD & READ
Fifty research-based literacy strategies designed for busy K-8 classroom teachers Organized around 10 key areas for teaching and learning literacy—phonemic awareness, phonics, reading fluency, vocabulary, story comprehension, comprehension of informational text, questioning for understanding, discussion for understanding, narrative writing, and writing to learn-Promoting Literacy Development offers 50 clearly written, step-by-step strategies for developing proficient readers and writers. The authors also include suggestions for differentiating instruction for English language learners and for students with special needs.
2011-05-02 By Patricia A. Antonacci

School librarians sometimes have opportunities to conduct book talks or author talks for extended periods of time when classroom teachers bring their students to the school library. Public library staff may not have these kinds of ...

Author: Caryn E. Neumann

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 9780313396427

Category: Social Science

Page: 353

View: 320

DOWNLOAD & READ
This title takes a calendrical approach to illuminating the history of Latinos and life in the United States and adds more value than a simple "this day in history" through primary source excerpts and resources for further research. • Hundreds of chronologically arranged entries featuring events and information about Latino/a history in the United States • An introduction that overviews the importance of Latino history in a day-by-day approach • A preface that explains the scope, methodology, and rationale for coverage • Primary-source excerpts for some events and two vetted books and websites for all events
2013-05-09 By Caryn E. Neumann